Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Ejection 090: Brian Gorman (1)

HP Umpire Brian Gorman ejected Cardinals pinch hitter Lance Berkman for arguing a strike call in the top of the 7th inning of the Cardinals-Brewers game. With two on and one out, Berkman took a 3-1 Snider from Brewers pitcher Randy Wolf for a called second strike and attempted to check his swing on a 3-2 cutter for a swinging third strike. Replays indicate the 3-1 pitch was located belt high and several inches inside while Berkman appeared to have attempted to strike the 3-2 pitch, the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the Brewers were leading, 3-2. The Brewers ultimately won the contest, 3-2.

This is Brian Gorman (9)'s first ejection of 2012.
Brian Gorman now has -2 points in the UEFL (0 Previous + 2 MLB + -4 Incorrect Call = -2).
Crew Chief Brian Gorman now has 3 points in the UEFL's Crew Division (3 Previous + 0 Incorrect = 3).
*Though the swinging strike call was correct, the previous 1-3 strike call was not, rendering QOC incorrect.

UEFL Standings Update

This is the 90th ejection of 2012.
This is the 35th player ejection of 2012.
This is the Cardinals' 3rd ejection of 2012.
This is Lance Berkman's first ejection since May 21, 2009 (Delfin Colon, QOC = Correct).
This is Brian Gorman's first ejection since September 4, 2009 (Bobby Cox; QOC = Correct).

Wrap: Cardinals at Brewers, 7/17/12
Video: Berkman argues Gorman's strike zone and judgment, is ejected (8:42)
Pitch f/x courtesy Brooks Baseball

22 comments :

Anonymous said...

It was a swing, but he took a pitch earlier that should have been ball four.

Anonymous said...

The umpire missed ball four as indicated, but I think the argument was also over the strike 3 call. We never did see the ejection though. They argued, but we didn't see the umpire signal anything. Then Berkman walked off and Matheny didn't even come out. We were surprised when the broadcasters said that he had been ejected.

I noticed the umpire tonight liked the curve ball. There were several that I didn't think were strikes and a few didn't even appear close.

michael hunt said...

Berkman really had no grounds to complain, since he had two questionable balls called in his favor during that at-bat. Balls two and three could very easily have been called strikes, especially two.

Anonymous said...

When was Brian Gorman's last ejection?

Anonymous said...

really @anon 9:24?...looks like matheny did make an appearance: http://www.columbiamissourian.com/stories/2012/07/17/k-rod-earns-save-brewers-beat-cardinals-3-2/

Anonymous said...

Gorman's last ejection was in 2009 and it was, who else, Bobby Cox.

Anonymous said...

Look at bob davidson playing peace maker. nice

Turducken said...

http://www.brooksbaseball.net/pfxVB/cache/numlocation.php-pitchSel=150116&game=gid_2012_07_17_slnmlb_milmlb_1&batterX=51&innings=yyyyyyyyy&sp_type=1&s_type=3.gif

Anonymous said...

Anon 9:57, interesting. There's no video of the ejection. Apparently the broadcasters fell asleep too because they didn't see the ejection either. I guess that must have been between innings? Because we were watching the game and he argued but then walked off while Matheny just stood at the top step of the dugout...

Anonymous said...

Brian Gorman and his crew doesn't have a high ejection rate. (That could change since Davidson has been added to the crew.)

Berkman must have cross the line on what he said to Gorman to get tossed.

Anonymous said...

He totally nailed the swing call, missed on the strike call though. "I felt like he (Gorman) missed that one," Berkman said. "I felt like he missed the 3-1 pitch. It was just a tough night for him.”

Russ said...

http://www.brooksbaseball.net/pfxVB/cache/zoneplot.php-pitchSel=all&game=gid_2012_07_17_slnmlb_milmlb_1&sp_type=1&s_type=7.gif

Not Gorman's best day. He really favored the left side strikes. Didn't matter if it was a righty or lefty hitter. I'm counting about 14 missed strike calls and 5 or 6 missed ball calls. Of course, that is just glancing at the zone really quickly. I still think Gorman is a hell of an Umpire. Berkman must have said something really heinous to get tossed froem the dugout like he did.

Russ said...

I will give Gorman credit where credit is due and say he was pretty consistent all around, especially with the left side strike. I don't know if that is common with him as I never really analyze his zones since he never gets complaints. He still went a little too far for my liking but kept it consistent and that is all you can ask for.

kickersrule said...

Someone help me out on this one.

Runner on 1st with no outs. I call a balk on the pitcher for no pause. The batter swings and gets a base it to right field. The runner on 1st base trys to make it to 3rd and is out by a mile at 3rd base. The coach comes out and says he now wants the balk instead of the result of the play. I said no because he is only entitled to one base and advances at his own risk. Play continued with a runner on 1st and one out. Should I have still let them have the balk or did I get it right?

Anonymous said...

If the batter and runners advance one base the balk is ignored.

Anonymous said...

The only time a manager gets to pick is on catcher's interference.

Anonymous said...

Didn't there used to be a rule that even if there was a missed call, if it didn't have a realistic effect on the outcome of the at-bat, the call would be correct anyway? Pitch 2 was called a ball while located in the strike zone, and pitches 6 & 7 were both located within the strike zone but were fouled. While pitch 5 was called a strike, but located out of the strike zone, it didn't realistically effect the at-bat.

SJR said...

You got it right. Once all runners reach their entitled one base, the balk is ignored. Even if one of the runners tries to be greedy and go for another base.

Turducken said...

Depends on the set of rules that you are governed by -- if you're governed under OBR, it's a delayed dead ball and if the batter and runners advance more than one base as a result of the play, the balk is ignored.

If you're governed under NFHS, it's dead right then and there regardless whether the batter hits a home run or strikes out.

Hope that helps you.

Anonymous said...

I've seen guys that are not liked buried on here for these Kzone stats in the same situation even if they are consistent.

Anonymous said...

And here is an example with Bucknor that no one likes and rakes over the coals and buries on his EJ with the Mets

http://www.brooksbaseball.net/pfxVB/cache/zoneplot.php-pitchSel=all&game=gid_2012_07_15_nynmlb_atlmlb_1&sp_type=1&s_type=7.gif

and Gorman's who everyone loves


http://www.brooksbaseball.net/pfxVB/cache/zoneplot.php-pitchSel=all&game=gid_2012_07_17_slnmlb_milmlb_1&sp_type=1&s_type=7.gif

Big Marc said...

After you call a balk.................
"The ball is dead, and each runner shall advance one base without
liability to be put out, unless the batter reaches first on a hit, an error, a base on
balls, a hit batter, or otherwise, and all other runners advance at least one base, in
which case the play proceeds without reference to the balk".
Also never forget this.........
"In cases where a pitcher balks and throws wild, either to a
base or to home plate, a runner or runners may advance beyond the base to which
he is entitled at his own risk".

Post a Comment