Saturday, August 10, 2013

MLB Ejection 127: Adrian Johnson (2; Clint Hurdle)

2B Umpire Adrian Johnson ejected Pirates Manager Clint Hurdle for arguing a call in the top of the 7th inning of the Pirates-Rockies game. With none out and two on, Pirates batter Neil Walker hit a 0-1 fastball from
Replays confirm Johnson's call.
Rockies pitcher Josh Outman on the ground to Outman who threw to shortstop Troy Tulowitzki at second to first baseman Todd Helton to complete the double play at first. Replays indicate Tulowitzki's left foot remained on second base while he gained possession of the baseball, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Rockies were leading, 6-3. The Rockies ultimately won the contest, 6-4.

This is Adrian Johnson (80)'s second ejection of the 2013 MLB season.
Adrian Johnson now has 8 points in the UEFL (4 + 2 + 2 = 8).
Crew Chief Fieldin Culbreth now has 2 points in the UEFL's Crew Division (1 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 2).

This is the 127th ejection of the 2013 MLB season.
This is the 61st Manager ejection of 2013.
This is the Pirates' 8th ejection of 2013, 1st in the NL Central (PIT 8; STL 5; CHC 4; MIL 3; CIN 0).
This is Clint Hurdle's MLB-leading 5th ejection of 2013 and first since July 25 (Laz Diaz; QOC = Correct).
This is Adrian Johnson's first ejection since May 28, 2013 (Terry Collins; QOC = Correct).

Wrap: Pittsburgh Pirates vs. Colorado Rockies, 8/10/13
Video: Johnson rules the force out at second as Tulo drags foot, Hurdle tossed disputing the call (PIT)

24 comments :

Gil Imber said...

http://wapc.mlb.com/play/?content_id=29606397&c_id=mlb

Gil Imber said...

Clint Hurdles wild rabbit...... staying in baseball games.

Gil Imber said...

"It appears closer with the Super-Mo."

Gil Imber said...

Well you certainly can't expect them to simply admit they were wrong...

Gil Imber said...

nope i never accept announcers to say they were wrong they open there mouth before they speak.

Gil Imber said...

I think we have found Bobby Cox's successor. Hurdle's act is getting old with the umps now.

Gil Imber said...

Although the announcers are annoying to listen to I still challenge this ruling. If you freeze the mlb.com video at 1:57 the foot is in contact with the bag but the ball is not yet there. At 1:58 the ball is there but the foot is clearly off the bag

Gil Imber said...

The graphic UEFL posted above is not clear of ANYTHING. The replay makes it appear he is off the bag. Very similar play happened in Cardinals game the other night. The umpires need to quit this "neighborhood" call.

Gil Imber said...

they never said it was a neighborhood play, In fact that really is not going to be happen with the new umpire coming up.

Gil Imber said...

you cannot protest/challenge a judgement call

Gil Imber said...

Carrapazza tossed Astrubal Cabrera.

Gil Imber said...

Yes you can.

Gil Imber said...

This isn't even a so-called "neighborhoid play" situation.

Gil Imber said...

Hurdle is really starting to get on my nerves, honestly.

Gil Imber said...

And from the slow-mo camera just when the ball impacts the glove.

Gil Imber said...

And what about the 29 frames in-between?

Gil Imber said...

In the past I have tried opening my mouth only after speaking. I have never been successful.

Gil Imber said...

4.19 PROTESTING GAMES:

No protest shall ever be permitted on judgment decisions by the umpire.

9.02


(a) Any umpire’s decision which involves judgment, such as, but not limited to, whether a batted ball is fair or foul, whether a pitch is a strike or a ball, or whether a runner is safe or out, is final. No player, manager, coach or substitute shall object to any such judgment decisions.

No you can't.... according to the rule book...

Gil Imber said...

MIchael is challenging the UEFL ruling of Correct, which he is allowed to do. He is not attempting to protest the outcome of the game.

Gil Imber said...

This ruling has been challenged and is under review by the UEFL Appeals Board

Gil Imber said...

It was pretty close but the best part was AJ giving it Hurdle.

Gil Imber said...

I was using the time listed on the video in order to provide a narrow window to look at. If I could have narrowed it down more I would have. If Gil did not think there was sufficient evidence cert would have been denied. What makes this difficult is the fact that the bottom of Tulo's cleat is white which blends with the bag if it is close and the angles are all from the front or the back when you really need the side view the best so you can get the foot the moment he catches the ball

Gil Imber said...

Can anyone point me to the video of this play? The link that is usually provided is not active. Thanks.

Gil Imber said...

In re: 127 Johnson 2;

After review, the Original Ruling has been affirmed in a 5-0-0 decision by the UEFL Appeals Board. Four Appeals Board members voted to confirm the Original Ruling while one elected to uphold it.

Majority Opinion, RichMSN, joined by tmac:
Confirm. The picture is certainly clear enough for me. That's a good piece of umpiring, actually looking at the bag at the moment the ball was caught. To the naked eye, it certainly looked like the fielder was off the bag, but then again, that's why they hire umpires.

Concurring Opinion, Turducken:
Confirm. F6 secured possession of the baseball while in contact with second base prior to R1's arrival.

Therefore, the Board affirms the Original Ruling.

Confirm: tmac, RichMSN, yawetag, Turducken
Uphold: BT_Blue
Overturn: -
Defer: -
Abstain: Gil (Posted Original Ruling), Jeremy (deployment)

Post a Comment