Sunday, April 20, 2014

MLB Instant Replay Review 124: Mike DiMuro (03)

Instant Replay Review overturned HP Umpire Mike DiMuro's safe call in the bottom of the 3rd inning of the Giants-Padres game. With two out and three on, Padres batter Chase Headley hit a 3-1 fastball from Giants pitcher Tim Lincecum on the ground to right fielder Hunter Pence, who threw to first baseman Brandon Belt, to catcher Buster Posey as Padres baserunner R1 Xavier Nady arrived at home plate. Upon Instant Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Giants Manager Bruce Bochy, DiMuro's ruling that Posey did not catch the ball and tag Nady prior to Nady's touch arrival at home plate was reversed, the call was incorrect. At the time the review, the Giants were leading, 4-3. The Giants ultimately won the contest, 4-3.

This is Mike DiMuro (16)'s third Instant Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
Mike DiMuro is now 0/3 (.000 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews in 2014.
Crew Chief Hunter Wendelstedt's crew is now 0/1 (.000 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews in 2014.

This is the 124th Instant Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
Giants Manager Bruce Bochy is now 2/3 (.667 Success) in Instant Replay Reviews during 2014.
Umpires are now 73/124 (.589 Affirmation Rate) in Instant Replay Reviews during the 2014 MLB season.

Wrap: San Francisco Giants vs. San Diego Padres, 4/20/14
Video: Play overturned; Giants save a crucial run on review, wiping away Nady's score (SF)


Gil Imber said...

My question to Hawk and Steve Stone would be this: You are saying that the hands are part of the bat? So, if I take this bat and throw it on the ground, there will be a set of hands with it?

Used to love Stone when he was on the Cubs broadcasts but the moron he is working with has really brought him down. This goes to show you that no matter how long you have been around the game of baseball, it does not gurantee that you know the rules. Neither of these clowns do.

Gil Imber said...

The ruling here is that the call was correct. I assume that is because the replay confirmed the HBP portion of the call. Check swings are not reviewable, but it is pretty clear the batter didn't offer.

Had this play resulted in an ejection and a resulting QOC call by the UEFL, would the ruling be that the call was incorrect?

Post a Comment