Thursday, September 13, 2018

Darius Ghani, Clay Williams Claim Umpire of Year Awards

Named crew chief for the 2018 California League Championship Series, Cal Lg umpire Darius Ghani was also named its 2018 Doug Harvey Award honoree, which celebrates the top umpire of the Class-A league; Clay Williams of the Appalachian League, meanwhile, took home the 2018 Dale Ford Umpire of the Year Award that is given out in that Rookie (Advanced) League.

Ghani becomes the ninth Minor League umpire to receive the Doug Harvey Award, named for the late Hall of Fame umpire Doug "God" Harvey, who officiated in the California League during his minor league career before taking his place in the National League from 1962 through 1992.

Darius Ghani received the 2018 Doug Harvey Award.
Doug Harvey Award Recepients, 2010-18
Year Umpire Name
2018 Darius Ghani
2017 Mike Rains
2016 Patrick Sharshel
2015 Reid Gibbs
2014 Sean Allen
2013 Ronnie Teague
2012 Chris Gonzalez
2011 Ryan Goodman
2010 Blake Davis

Cal League President Charlie Blaney's statement:
Congratulations to Darius Ghani for being the ninth recipient of the Doug Harvey Award. Darius has worked hard all year and has done a tremendous job. We've been very honored to have him in our League this year. The Cal League sincerely thanks the family of Doug Harvey for lending his name once again to this prestigious award.
The California League named Harvey to its Hall of Fame in 2017, following his induction into the National Baseball Hall of Fame. Harvey was born in South Gate, California and was the last big league umpire not to have attended umpire school.
Related PostDoug Harvey Set for CAL League Hall of Fame Induction (6/16/17).

Clay Williams is presented with the Dale Ford Award.
On the opposite side of the continent, Appalachian League President Lee Landers named second-year MiLB umpire Clay Williams as that league's Dale Ford Umpire of the Year. Like Harvey, Robert "Dale" Ford served in the league whose umpire of the year award bears his name, going on to officiate in the American League from 1975 through 1999.

Dale Ford Award Recepients, 2015-18
Year Umpire Name
2018 Clay Williams
2017 Steve Hodgins
2016 Matt Brown
2015 Navas Corzo
Ford, who served three terms in the Tennessee House of Representatives after concluding his big league umpiring career, still officiates games from time to time in that league, and elsewhere in the state of Tennessee.


Post a Comment