Saturday, August 10, 2013

MLB Ejection 126: Jim Joyce (1; Chris Johnson)

HP Umpire Jim Joyce ejected Braves 3B Chris Johnson for arguing a strike three call in the bottom of the 1st inning of the Marlins-Braves game. With two out and two on, Johnson took a 0-2 fastball from Marlins pitcher
Joyce ejects Johnson for arguing strike three.
Nathan Eovaldi for a called third strike. Replays indicate the decisive pitch was located thigh high and over the outer edge of home plate (px 0.773), the call was correct. The call is now incorrect as the first strike of the at-bat was located outside of the strike zone (appealed and overturned). At the time of the ejection, the contest was tied, 0-0. The Marlins ultimately won the contest, 1-0.

This is Jim Joyce (66)'s first ejection of 2013.
Jim Joyce now has -2 points in the UEFL (0 + 2 + -4 = -2).
Crew Chief Jim Joyce now has 0 points in the UEFL's Crew Division (0 Previous + 0 Incorrect Call = 0).

This is the 126th ejection of the 2013 MLB season.
This is the 54th player ejection of 2013. Prior to ejection, Johnson was 0-1 in the contest.
This is the Braves' 7th ejection of 2013, 1st in the NL East (ATL 7; WAS 5; NYM, PHI 4; MIA 2).
This is Chris Johnson's 1st ejection of 2013 and first since May 22, 2012 (Tim Tschida; QOC = Correct).
This is Jim Joyce's first ejection since May 11, 2012 (Brad Mills; QOC = Correct [Crewmate]).

Wrap: Miami Marlins vs. Atlanta Braves, 8/10/13
Video: After passionately firing bat and equipment, Johnson continues to bark at Joyce and is tossed (ATL)

23 comments :

Gil Imber said...

Jim Joyce consistently has some of my favorite ejections.

Gil Imber said...

Let's be honest. How many of us thought this ejection was correct before even seeing the video because it's Jim Joyce?

Gil Imber said...

Adrian Johnson gave hurdle the heave ho.

Gil Imber said...

Joyce doesn't eject many, so Johnson must have really earned that one with whatever he said.

Gil Imber said...

The strike three call was correct, however, strikes 1 and 2 in the at bat were both outside (strike 2 being well off the plate). This has not as much to do with the pitch shown than the previous two pitches. Joyce is a very good umpire, but he missed some pitches tonight, particularly outside to right-handed hitters. He punched out Paul Janish to end the game on a pitch that can easily be spotted on Brooks Baseball (the farthest outside red triangle).
Footnote: I am a Braves fan, and I'm not that upset about the last pitch to Janish b/c it's not like he was going to get a hit anyway; but, just look at the Brooks plot. He wasn't terrible behind the plate. It just seemed like it was the situations that were costly to Atlanta.

Gil Imber said...

Challenge. Even though strike 3 was correctly called, pitch fx numbers show that strike 1 had a px value of 1.027 which would make that strike call incorrect. If pitch 1 had been ruled correctly it would be a 1-1 count rather than 0-2 before Johnson struck out. To me that incorrectly called pitch significantly changed the outcome of the at bat.

Gil Imber said...

its right with or without looking at it for the fact he complain about a judgement call johnson needs to keep his cool.

Gil Imber said...

Seriously are you people so far up on high horses. there humans there going to be called of the plate, its normal. How it was the bottom of the first.

Gil Imber said...

But that doesn't make the calls correct, does it? It's "they're" by the way.

Gil Imber said...

The love affair with umpires on this site is almost unbearable.

Gil Imber said...

the other thing too is the patience jim joyce showed.
he had a couple of chances to toss johnson, but didn't till he said something after the bat and helmet stuff,
btw, the call was correct,

Gil Imber said...

strike one: throw bat. strike two: throw helmet. strike three: chirp.



1,2,3 your gone.

Gil Imber said...

Then why are you still here?

Gil Imber said...

Yes, the first pitch was incorrect but it really did not significantly change the outcome of the at bat because Johnson never even took the bat off his shoulder. He just stood there and struck out looking on 2 consecutive strikes following the 0-0 pitch. Had he swung at one of the following pitches you could argue that he had to expand his zone and swing at a pitch he would otherwise have taken because he had to play defensively. By not swinging and striking out on 3 consecutive called strikes (the latter 2 being correct) he really did not change his approach at all.


To me in order for an incorrectly called pitch to significantly change an at bat it would have to do 1 of 2 things.
1.) It would have to be the final pitch of the at bat in which case it gives the batter (or pitcher if its an incorrectly ruled ball) no chance to make up for the bad call.
2.) It would have to change the approach taken in the at bat (i.e. having to swing at a borderline pitch that may otherwise have been taken in order to protect and stay alive in the at bat)


Since Johnson never swung at a pitch in the at bat his approach really was not altered by the incorrect 1st pitch and he essentially got himself out by standing there with his bat on his shoulder for the strike 2 and strike 3 pitches which were correct.

Gil Imber said...

Strike 2 had px 0.913 which is within the acceptable borderline zone outlined in the UEFL rulebook and was therefore a correctly ruled strike. The strike 1 pitch was incorrect (px 1.027). Since Johnson struck out on 3 consecutive called strikes (the latter 2 being correct) he pretty much got himself out.

Gil Imber said...

I want to say, Joyce is one of the best umpires out there. He handles situations so professionally and his calls are usually spot on.

Gil Imber said...

This ruling has been challenged and is under review by the UEFL Appeals Board.

Gil Imber said...

Because it amuses me to see such stupidity.

Gil Imber said...

I was thinking to myself before I saw the comments that this is exactly what I would post.
I'm really confused, though...what's with the people on this board talking so much about some missed balls and strikes by umpires during the games? Do you think they are perfect human beings? IF so, why don't we hold the players accountable for not hitting a home run on every at bat? People will leave this board if the crazy comments don't cease. This guy tosses his bat and hurls his helmet--all the while chirping at the umpire about balls and strikes, which is an automatic ejection anyway--what is somebody thinking when he wants to talk abut pitches one and two? What on earth is defendable about a batter making a mockery of things out there? Why would you want to defend that???

Gil Imber said...

On behalf of other Braves fans, please stop talking. Thanks.

Gil Imber said...

Take a hike then, fanboy.

Gil Imber said...

In re: 126 Joyce 1;

After review, the Original Ruling has been reversed, 3-1-0 decision by the UEFL Appeals Board. Three Appeals Board members voted to overturn the Original Ruling while one elected to confirm it.

Majority Opinion, RichMSN, joined by tmac:
Overturn. Historically, we've looked at the entire at bat and have had a pretty high threshold (that is, virtually all pitches ruled called strikes should be correct in the at bat). Based on the information here, it's not the case in the Joyce at bat. The ejection was clearly because of the pitch called a strike that was called a strike incorrectly. To me, it seems not in the spirit of the contest or the site to reward those that have Joyce with points when Joyce contributed to the ejection with an incorrect call during the at bat.

Dissenting Opinion, Turducken:
Confirm. I do not think that the pitch in question meets the threshold for "realistically resulted in a different outcome." At the time of the incorrectly called pitch, the count was 0-0. Despite the incorrect strike call, the count remained 0-1.

I concur with UEFL precedent in 108 Holbrook 6 and 125 Welke 3 (2012). The second strike, if ruled incorrectly, can change the at-bat. Faced with an X-2 count, the batter must change his approach. With an X-1 count, the batter does not.

Therefore, the Board reverses the Original Ruling.

Confirm: Turducken
Uphold: -
Overturn: tmac, RichMSN, yawetag
Defer:
Abstain: Gil (Posted Original Ruling), Jeremy (deployment), BT_Blue (owns Joyce)

Gil Imber said...

1. Of course there will be mistakes. That doesn't make them correct, but it also doesn't make Jim Joyce less of an umpire. He's a damn fine umpire.

2. Please, for the love of all things holy, if you wish to be taken seriously, figure out how to use the word "they're."

Post a Comment