Sunday, June 15, 2014
MLB Ejection & Replay Review: Emmel, Morales (1, 09)
In the 4th, with none out and one on, Royals batter Alcides Escobar hit a 1-0 fastball from White Sox pitcher Andre Rienzo on the ground to shortstop Alexei Ramirez, who threw to first baseman Jose Abreu, Royals baserunner R2 Mike Moustakas to second base. Upon Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Royals Acting Manager Don Wakamatsu, Morales' ruling was reversed, the call was incorrect. At the time of the review, the Royals were leading, 5-1. The Royals ultimately won the contest, 6-3.
This is Paul Emmel (50)'s first ejection of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is Gabe Morales (47)'s ninth Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is Crew Chief Paul Emmel's third supervised Replay Review of the 2014 season.
*Rule 8.05(a), pertaining to balks, states it is a balk when "the pitcher, while touching his plate, makes any motion naturally associated with his pitch and fails to make such delivery." Rule 8.05(a) Comment addresses the swinging of the free foot past the back edge of the rubber. Rule 8.05(c) states it is a balk if "the pitcher, while touching his plate, fails to step directly toward a base before throwing to that base."
This is the 93rd ejection of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is the 37th Manager ejection of 2014.
This is the 523rd Instant Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is the Royals' 4th ejection of 2014, 1st in the AL Central (KC 4; CWS 3; DET 2; CLE, MIN 1).
This is Ned Yost's first ejection since May 27, 2014 (Kerwin Danley; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Paul Emmel's first ejection since Sept 16, 2012 (Matt Joyce; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Royals Acting Manager Don Wakamatsu's first (KC's 18th overall) Replay Review of 2014.
Umpires are now 277/523 (.529 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews during the 2014 MLB season.
Wrap: Kansas City Royals vs. Chicago White Sox, 6/15/14
Video: A balk is called on a failed-step pickoff move; Yost is tossed for arguing the ruling (KC)
Video: Play overturned; Replay Review indicates Ramirez didn't tag 2nd before Mous got there (KC)